October 09, 2003

Buyer Beware : Yet another fake PayPal site

Today a received another fake PayPal site email. This one tries to get your credit card information and all of the bells and whistles that come with it.

For your enjoyment, I have included the text of said email. For your protection, I have already forwarded this information over to PayPal's Customer Service team that researches these fake sites.

This link will probably be dead soon, but anyway, here is the message.

Here is the URL for the "click here" link:
http://www.paypal.com@218.38.212.194/pp/processing.htm

It's a pretty good fake.

Please verify your information today! Dear Paypal Member.

Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures.
This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your paypal account and to ensure a safe Paypal experience.
We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.
To verify your information, click here and enter the details requested.
After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.

Thank you for using PayPal!

Posted by akvalley at October 9, 2003 06:07 PM | TrackBack
Comments
Post a comment









On-topic comments, complaints, and criticisms are welcome, but off-topic or inappropriate comments will be deleted without notice to the commentor. If you include your URL below it will be linked (and subsequently indexed by Google and the like...possibly).

Since ALL of the message text is displayed online, please maintain your personal privacy by not posting personal information.

Remember personal info?






Please enter the code as seen in the image above to post your comment.